God made you special!

Hadley has the rather unfortunate fate of being a December baby. His original due date was actually Christmas Day – no kidding. Thankfully he was ready to come out a good deal before then, and he has over a week between birthday and Christmas.

 

We have worked diligently to make his birthday special and unique. Rather than rolling it into one big month of Christmas, we switch the Advent Calendar Notes around a bit to do God made you special on his birthday, rather than the 23rd. Of course, we include Afton in that, as well.

 

That is one of the great things about the customized calendar you are creating – you adapt it to meet the needs of your family. Use what you want, when you want it, and leave the rest for another time.

 

If only I could figure out a way to convince my three year old that it isn’t HER birthday, too…we may have a little challenge on our hands this year!

 

Day 23

God made you special

 

 

Talk with your child about the day of his or her birth (or how they came to be a part of your family), how long you had to wait to meet them once you discovered they were coming, and how special it was when they finally arrived. Explain to them that God also knew them and loved them before they were even born! Talk about how God knows the number of hairs on their head, and every little thing about them, and how much God loves them because God made them special.

 

Psalm 139: 1-5, 13-16

New Living Translation

 

1O LORD, you have examined my heart

and know everything about me.

2You know when I sit down or stand up.

You know my thoughts even when I’m far away.

3You see me when I travel

and when I rest at home.

You know everything I do.

4You know what I am going to say

even before I say it, LORD.

5You go before me and follow me.

You place your hand of blessing on my head.

13You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body

and knit me together in my mother’s womb.

 

14Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!

Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it.

15You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion,

as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.

16You saw me before I was born.

Every day of my life was recorded in your book.

 

 

John 3:16-17

New International Version (NIV)

 

16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. 17 For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.

 

Jesus Loves Me

Jesus loves me! this I know,

For the Bible tells me so.

Little ones to Him belong;

they are weak but He is strong.

Yes, Jesus loves me!

Yes, Jesus loves me!

Yes, Jesus loves me!

The Bible tells me so.

 

 

 

Day 24

Celebrate Jesus Birthday

 

If you include Santa in your holiday activities, you get a two for one deal with today’s activities!

 

Invite your child to bake with you in the kitchen today, creating birthday cookies for Jesus, which you can then leave a few of for Santa. Remind your child that tonight is very special, not only because they will be presents in the morning, or even that you get to spend time together, but because it is Jesus’ birthday. Place a candle in one (or a small stack) and sing this Happy Birthday, Jesus song  and allow your child to blow the candle out.

 

If you are of a mind to include Santa, snuggle up before bedtime to read T’was the night before Christmas together as a family. Set out your cookies, carrots, and milk, and tuck those kiddos into bed!

 

Now it’s off to bed with you, too, right?!?

 

Ha!

 

Try your best to enjoy this night of pre-Christmas morning prep, getting as much sleep as possible before your little angels come to announce the sunrise!

 

Happy Birthday, Jesus!

Happy Birthday, Jesus!

We’re glad you came to earth.

We take this very special day

To celebrate your birth.

 

What is your favorite Christmas Eve tradition? Do you open one gift? Do you attend a church service? Do you read a special book or story? We’d love to hear what your special plans are! You just might inspire someone else!

Leave a Reply

