A grateful heart

When we got married, my new mother-in-law gave us a decorative wall hanging made of wood. It said,

Having a place to go is home.
Having someone to love is family.
Having both is a blessing.

I thought it was a very sweet, but slightly odd, sentiment. I very much appreciated the gift, but the verse was a little bit of a downer. I hung it up and decided to focus on the love in which it was given. We had those those things. We did feel blessed.

We have been married for over 8 and a half years, and we have moved 9 times. I cannot readily think of one house that we did not hang that plaque in.

In those 8 + years, there have been times when having someone, or someones- or some creatures, to love didn’t feel so much like a blessing. There has been more than one occasion when we didn’t have our own place to go.

I will write one day about my thoughts on blessings, and the common use of the word or concept, but for now I will say that that sign holds a whole new meaning to me now.

We don’t need much in life, but someone to love and somewhere to live are right up there.

Now when I see that sign, I think of how much Matt and I have grown – up, and together – over these years moving that sign from house to house.

I think of all of the other things in life that I thought I, or we, couldn’t live without.

While I could recover if something were to happen to that sign, it is one of the things I make an effort to keep around (and I have a whole new view of what’s worth keeping after moving as many times as we have so far!).

I get it now…and it doesn’t seem nearly so odd a sentiment anymore.

Leave a Reply

